Muffet Mcgraw

Ann "Muffet" McGraw is the current head women's basketball coach at Notre Dame. In 27 seasons at Notre Dame, she compiled a 662-217 (.753) record. She led her team to 6 Final Fours (1997, 2001, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014), and won the National Championship in 2001. Notre Dame has made it to the fourth round of the tournament 7 out of the last 12 seasons (through the 2014 tournament), and had 20-win seasons in 13 out of the past 14 seasons. She led the Irish to 14 NCAA tournament appearances including a current streak of 12 straight. In this streak, Notre Dame has made it to the second round in all but one of the appearances. McGraw graduated from Saint Joseph's University as a basketball player, and briefly played professionally for the California Dreams of the Women's Professional Basketball League. McGraw has compiled 50 wins over ranked opponents, including 40 over the last 8 seasons. Her teams appeared in the AP poll 139 times during her tenure. Notre Dame finished in the Top 3 of the Big East in 9 out of the 11 seasons they have been in the league. In the 2014 season, the Irish won the ACC, their first year in the league. Notre Dame also received 11 consecutive Top 20 ranked recruiting classes. She is the 27th coach in NCAA history to win over 500 career games, and is currently the 13th head coach in NCAA Division I basketball history to reach 700 career wins. On February 5, 2013 Muffet McGraw achieved her 700th career victory with a win over the Villanova Wildcats in Philadelphia, her hometown, by a score of 59-52, making her the 13th coach in Division 1 history to reach the 700 win milestone. She holds a record of 700-257 (.739) over 31 years of coaching, the past 26 years at Notre Dame.


2001—Naismith Coach of the Year
2013—Naismith Women's College Coach of the Year
2013—Associated Press Division I Women's National Coach of the Year
2013—Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Division I Coach of the Year
2014—espnW Coach of the Year
2014—Associated Press Division I Women's National Coach of the Year
2014—USBWA Coach of the Year