Ohio State Football Banner














The Ohio State Buckeyes Heisman Winners

There are six legends of Ohio State football-- The Heisman Trophy winners. The first was Les Horvath QB, 1944. Next, was Vic Janowicz HB, 1950, Howard Cassady HB, 1955, Archie Griffin HB, 1974, Archie Griffin HB, 1975, and Eddie George, TB, 1995. The most recent was Troy Smith, QB, 2006

Les Horvath let the Buckeyes to a 9-0 season ending 2nd in the nation behind Army. In addition, winning the Big 10 He was the first one from the school to receive the Heisman Trophy.

Vic Janowicz, against Iowa, sent two kickoffs out the back of the endzone, scored an 11-yard touchdown run, threw a 12-yard touchdown, recovered two fumbles on defense, returned a 61-yard punt for a touchdown, and kicked three extra points; all within five minutes of the beginning of the game.

Howard Cassady lead The Ohio State Buckeyes for 17 straight wins and 2 consecutive Big 10 titles.

Archie Griffin brought the Buckeyes their 3rd consecutive Big 10 title in 1974. In 1975 he broke the NCAA's all-time leading rusher in a midseason game against Purdue. Also, led them to their 4th consecutive Rose Bowl game and Big 10 championship

Eddie George led the Buckeyes to tie a school record with 11 wins. Also, to play in the Citrus Bowl. OSU sets a school record that still stands with 475 points scored with the leadership of Eddie. A then Ohio Stadium record crowd of 95,537 is on hand for Ohio State's 45-26 win over Notre Dame.

Troy Smith led the Buckeyes to a 12-0 regular season and number 1 in the poles the whole time. They lost to Florida in the National Championship. He threw for a school record 30 touchdowns, won unanimous All-America honors and became Ohio State's seventh Heisman Trophy winner