Skyrim Site Banner




Skyrim, also known as the Old Kingdom, the Fatherland or Keizaal, is a vast region set in the northern part of Tamriel. It is home to the Nords, large and hardy men and women who have a strong resistance to frost, both natural and magical. Skyrim was first inhabited by a race of Mer known as the Snow Elves, though after the Atmoran-Snow Elf War, the Snow Elves were destroyed and the Atmorans settled the land. It is bordered by Morrowind to the east, Cyrodiil to the south, Hammerfell to the southwest, and High Rock to the west. The island of Solstheim lies to the northeast of Skyrim.


There are ten different playable races in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. Each one possesses its own unique racial abilities and powers. Each race starts off with +10 in one skill and +5 in five other skills. However, this doesn't mean that each race is restricted to creating a certain type of character, because the player can develop any skill over time. Unlike other Elder Scrolls games, Skyrim does not feature classes, so in character creation, the race is the only major gameplay choice that the player has.


They represent actions that can be taken in game; there are 18 in total and each is tracked by its own system of skill points. Skill points are a measure of how proficient the Dragonborn is at these skills and increasing them grants benefits to the skill as well as granting access to perks that may be taken upon leveling up. Also, when a certain level is reached in some skills, guards and other NPCs will comment on it.



Exploring a cave

A mage and a Nord woman explore a cave



Click here to view my references page.