HistoryRunning Tigers Bengals Logo

The Cincinnati Bengals were formed in 1937 and joined the American Football League. After it closed, the Bengals became a separate team and rejoined a newly reformed AFL in 1939. Yet again the AFL shut down, then reopened; yet again the Bengals rejoined. Come WWII, this third AFL shut down and the Bengals ceased play along with it. They were restarted in 1967 by Paul Brown and have been playing ever since.