The World Series

The World Series is the annual championship series of Major League Baseball in North America, contested since 1903 between the American League champion team and the National League champion. Prior to 1969, the team with the best win-loss record in each league automatically advanced to the World Series. As of 2015, the World Series has been contested 111 times, with the AL winning 64 and the NL winning 47. The winner of the World Series championship is determined through a best-of-seven playoff and the winning team is awarded the Commissioner's Trophy. The World series is often referred to as the Fall Classic. No team has won consecutive World Series titles since the 2000 New York Yankees, a duration of 15 years and the longest such occurrence in Major League Baseball history.

Click here to view my references